top of page

Mission Statement

To champion a vibrant visual arts community by providing exhibition space, studios, professional development, and creative experiences for Arlington’s community.

Vision Statement

To inspire Arlington visual artists to reach their full potential.

Mission & Vission Statement
Mission & Vission


Arlington Artists Alliance was formed in 2000 by working artists who wanted to make local art more accessible in our community, and gained non-profit 501(c)(3) status in 2007. Full membership is open to visual artists who live, work or have a studio in Arlington and want to exhibit their work.  Supporting membership is available for art patrons and enthusiasts who value local art-making.

We encourage and support both established and emerging artists who work in all forms of 2D and 3D art, without partiality toward style or trend. We support those artists who find their creative process therapeutic. We treasure the support we receive from art lovers, local businesses and our community.



Our programs are found throughout Arlington County, Virginia, and our activity hub is located at Gallery Underground within Art Underground in Crystal City, VA. Gallery Underground exhibit and promote new member work with fresh shows each month, and also other local and national artists in special monthly exhibitions.

Our 200+ members also exhibit year-round at a variety of Arlington community venues, including local government offices, community organizations, local businesses, restaurants and cafes. The Alliance hosts several community-wide annual exhibits, including spring and fall festivals at Fort C.F. Smith in Arlington.

sandi free your mind.jpeg

Board of Directors

Christina Papanicolaou, Executive Director

Cindy Donohoe, President

Michael Allison, Vice President

Laura Clerici, Secretary

Todd Parker, Treasurer


Sandi Chesrown, Member-at-Large

Jane Coonce, Member-at-Large

Anya Getter, Member-at-Large

Shelley Micali, Member-at-Large

Steve Oshana, Member-at-Large

Larry Padberg, Member-at-Large

Sandi Parker, Member-at-Large

Bridgette Weitzel, Member-at-Large

Carol Waite, Member-at-Large

bottom of page